59th Macau Grand Prix – Fast Facts


Originally conceived in 1954 as an amateur event for local motoring enthusiasts, today the Macau Grand Prix is a race meeting to which the world's leading Formula 3 and touring car drivers, and road and endurance racing motorcycle riders, vie for entries. Each November more than 200 competitors as well as thousands of motor sports fans descend on the city for the world-famous international street circuit race meeting which features both carand motorcycle races.

This year the event will be held from November 15 – 18.

One of the three headlines races is the Formula 3 Macau Grand Prix – the FIA Formula 3 Intercontinental Cup, which sees a field of 30 leading drivers from the various national championships held around the world compete for the unofficial world cup of the category. For these young superstars of tomorrow, a win at Macau can guarantee a place in a top GP2 team or, in the case of exceptional talent, an immediate elevation to the pinnacle of motor racing, Formula 1.

This year Macau celebrates the 30th running of its Formula 3 Grand Prix, the first of which was won by the late Ayrton Senna in 1983.  His win put the Grand Prix firmly on the worldwide motor racing map. This year, 16 of the 2012 Formula 1 World Championship drivers raced at Macau earlier in their careers. 1990 saw multiple Formula 1 World Champion Michael Schumacher celebrate atop the podium after a fierce battle with Mika Häkkinen in a race that’s still remembered as one of Macau’s best. 2011 marked the 20th anniversary of F1 driver David Coulthard’s Macau victory in 1991.  Runner-up in 1999, Jenson Button jumped from the Macau podium straight to F1, while another driver to ascend straight to the pinnacle of the sport from Macau was 2001 winner Takuma Sato. Two time and reigning Formula 1 World Champion, Sebastian Vettel, raced at Macau twice. Jaime Alguersuari, who competed in the 2008 race, became the youngest Formula 1 driver in history at the 2009 Hungarian Grand Prix, while Daniel Ricciardo raced at Macau in 2009 before being named F1 Test Driver just two months later.

In 2012, for the eighth consecutive year, the FIA World Touring Car Championship will once again stage its final rounds at the Macau Grand Prix.  Last year, Frenchman Yvan Muller celebrated his third FIA WTCC title in Macau.

The unique Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix has become known as one of the world’s leading road racing events and returns for its 46th edition in 2012. Often mentioned along with other famous road races such as the Isle of Man TT and the North West 200, Macau boasts a truly international field, and the Guia Circuit has become known in motorcycle circles as arguably the most demanding street course in the world.

In spite of its growth as an event of international standing, Macau has not forgotten its roots and there is a full complement of support races to cater to the strong interest in motor sport from local enthusiasts.

Length:   3.8 miles (6.2km)
Minimum width:  22.8 feet (7m)
Characteristics: A street circuit with an exhilarating combination of long, fast straights and sharply twisting corners, with elevations and the famous Melco hairpin

Formula 3 Lap Record: 2:10.732 (Edoardo Mortara, 2009 / Dallara Volkswagen)
Motorcycle Lap Record: 2:23.616 (Stuart Easton, 2010 / Kawasaki 1000cc)
FIA World Touring Car Championship Lap Record: 2:32.076 (Tiago Monteiro, 2009 / SEAT León TDI)
Guia Race Lap Record (pre-2005): 2:29.536 (Steve Soper, 1997/BMW 320i)
Number of races               :      7 (6 car/1 motorcycle)
Number of competitors     :